New Book, Some Minor Accomplishments and Some News, Or Why I Prefer Social Media (It Involves Pajamas)…

By Kiki Keane

Finally got my new Arabic book. I’m hoping the CD is better than the other one and that in combo with my Rosetta Stone I will be speaking like a pro soon (haha!). At the very least, I hope I can have a basic conversation.

Feeling a bit accomplished today. I finished two books (FINALLY!) and started another. The new one is called The Berlin-Baghdad Express by Sean McMeekin. I’m hoping I’ll get it done by this time next week along with the Abbott, Stark bio and du Maurier’s Echoes of the Macabre.

In an effort to remedy my sad, sad neglect of the news, I have spent hours reading and watching the news. Here are a few bits from Al Jazeera that I’ve found interesting:

DRC

Saudi Arabia and Iran

US House approves use of force as Iran option

Head of UN mission in Syria “pessimistic”

Can’t remember if I posted this before or not, but what the heck… Here is a piece from The Atlantic from last year about the uprisings in China after the Arab Spring.

Here is a story from this months Atlantic, which asks if social-media is making us lonely. I disagree except for the narcissism part, but who am I to say? I’ve never been a particularly social creature and would much rather interact via computer/phone screen than in person. It’s less taxing and I can stay in my pjs…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

