Books, Pakistan and Mr. Cooper, Or I Can’t Think Of Anything To Write So You’re Stuck With This…

By Kiki Keane

So. It’s my turn to blog… I wish I had something to blog about, but I’m afraid my days have been filled with nothing more than CSI and a couple of books, which I have not finished.

Books. Now that’s an exciting topic! Unless you’re not in to that sort of thing, in which case this blog post will be very boring.

The Snow Child is my book clubs pick of the month. I don’t hate it, but I’m not overly fond of it. I loved the story as a kid and the opera is pretty bad ass, too, if I remember right. But I’ve never understood the desire to procreate (I get the act of procreation, but not actually wanting to spawn another living thing), which is a major part of the plot for both the fairytale and the novel. An older couple wants but can’t have child. One night they build one out of snow and the next day there she is–the snow child. Anyway, since I don’t really get the major desire of the leading characters I don’t really get or care about what follows and I don’t really care about them. Maybe to harsh. I haven’t finished so maybe I’ll change my mind…

Getting Off by Lawrence Block (as Jill Emerson) is a racy contemporary noir published by Hard Case Crime. It’s about a young woman who murders all the men she sleeps with. It’s an easy read and little bit twisted.

Passionate Nomad is a biography about Freya Stark who was an intrepid, intelligent adventurer/traveller/explorer and a pretty good writer, too. She is one of my heros and I hope to be a fraction of the woman she was.

Queenpin by Megan Abbot is a hardboiled story of relationships between grifters. I really enjoyed one of Abbot’s other books Die A Little. Queenpin is promising so far.

I haven’t really been keeping a close on the news this week. Don’t really know why. I think it’s just to hot here in the desert to turn the TV/computer/phone on. Who needs the extra heat? Promise to rectify that, though, if only for my own benefit.

Richard Engel was on Rachel Maddow tonight. I didn’t get to see it at the time, but I have a clip! It’s about a new deal from Pakistan to re-open supply routes for NATO to Afghanistan. Pretty interesting stuff.

Rachel blogged about pet peeves yesterday. I have a lot of them, but my current one is this: people who comment on something someone says without actually hearing what they are saying. Case in point: Anderson Cooper recently did a piece that calls into question one specific instance of the “War On Women.” There were a number of people who seem to think that he said that there is no war on women. He never said that. He’s simply questioning this single incident.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

