Goals, News and Pulitzers, Or A Really Long Post To Make Up For My Laziness…

By Kiki Keane

Okay, so Rachel and I have not been on the ball lately. It’s been a few days since we’ve blogged and we’re late on our weekly goals post (I’m sure you’ve lost sleep over it).  I guess we’ve been lazier than usual. So, this is going to be a combo post: goals and something…

Rachel hasn’t given me her goals or mentioned what goals she accomplished last week, so she’s going to have mention them on the next post she writes.

I am 1-5 this week, though it’s not for lack of trying. I applied for jobs, but to no avail. Apparently, I am too educated to flip burgers or run a cash register and too inexperienced to ________________ (fill in the blank). I tried to watch The Spy Who Loved Me, but the DVD was scratched, so I only got to the part where Jaws rips off pieces of the van with his bare hands (its not like I have seen it million times or anything…). I guess I could have found another movie to watch, but I was in a Bond mood and that was the only one I could find. Apparently, everyone in Las Cruces was in a Bond mood. I did not read a full book, but I think I read enough of several different books to say I read a full book… Still, I won’t count it. I did not work on the news/profile piece this week. I have no excuse for it. I did, however, work on my novel. Man is it bad! But it passes the time and what else am I going to do with all this time I have (don’t answer that!)?

I think it’s safe to say that I did not work on the collective goals either.

New Goals: 1) Finish at least one of the books I’ve started and read another one 2) Work on my book 3) Watch a movie 4) Not panic or have a panic attack about any of the following: my unemployment/bum status, lack of funds for my upcoming move to Egypt/N. Africa/Mid-East, the fact that I am a single (not actually something I’m upset about), unemployed, soon to be 28-year-old woman with a cat who lives with her grandparents (don’t judge!).

Collective Goals: 1) Learn Arabic 2) Blog

The Something: 

International News: I’ve still been riveted by the North Korea story. Here and here are the latest from Richard Engel. I believe he’s left Pyongyang.

Local News: People sometimes think I’m a bit weird because I’d rather not risk going out at night to walk, or at least not on my own. I know it’s crazy. I mean I want to report on one of the most volatile regions in the world, cover war, revolutions and disasters, but I don’t want to risk going for a walk at night in a small, fairly safe city because something, like rape, might happen. Well, as it turns out, according the New Mexico Department of Health, I live in the state that has the 5th highest prevalence of rape in the country. To break it down, 1-4 New Mexican women will be victims of rape and 1 in 20 men. They also say that the real numbers are probably much higher. And it’s not getting better. It’s getting worse. I know that we have more to fear from the people we know than from strangers, but still…

Books: So, the Pulitzer Prizes have been announced. The big news is that no award was given for fiction, which is the first time since 1977. I find I actually don’t care about that. I am really glad about the photographer who won for his photo of the little girl in the green outfit who is crying/screaming surrounded by people who were killed in a bombing in Afghanistan in December. It is a hard photo to look at, but I remember it very vividly. It so moved me that I splurged and bought the newspaper (it was The New York Times, which is very expensive for a Master’s student in Hawaii).

Also, I’m reading Carrie for the first time. I’m not a King fan. I love his ideas, but there’s something about his style that grates like nails on a chalkboard. However, Carrie seems to be fairly readable. I’ve only cringed twice.

Categories: Books, Goals, Job Hunting, Journalism, Life, Media, Nerd, Photography, Uncategorized, Work | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

