A Bookworm’s Celebration, Or Why I Am One Step Closer To The Poor House…

By Kiki Keane

I try not to blog about my job, but Friday was a good day. I graduated from training and am now moving into the transition stage! This is exciting because it means that in two weeks time, when I become a full fledged Trusted Advisor (what a crock!) I will be paid a dollar more when I work after 6pm and on weekends, I will be allowed to work overtime and get paid for it and I get paid a percentage (a very, very small percentage) on any sales I might make. I don’t usually care that much about money, but I need every cent I can get for this trip. The truth is that isn’t just a trip for me. If I’m successful I will have a new career and a new life!

Having said that, I have to admit that instead of saving all those pennies I made today, I spent them. Well, not all of them. Just half. I decided to celebrate and went on a late night trip to a bookstore. I walked out of the store with an armful of books and an Irish Creme Mocha. I purchased the following: Dark Safari by Paul Theroux, Scribbling the Cat by  Alexandra Fuller, I Dreamed of Africa by Kuki Gallmann and The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe by Peter Godwin. I spot a theme…

Here’s the news I’ve been most interested in today:

1) George Clooney’s arrest

2) Soldier’s identity revealed and Karzai’s response to massacre and U.S. Troops’ response

3) Syria

Categories: Adventure, Books, Corporations, Goals, Journalism, Media, Nerd, Work | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

