Why Have Thou Forsaken Me, Sweet Hypnos?

By Kiki Keane

So… Here’s my dirty little secret, my skeleton in the closet as it were: I am an insomniac. I am not, however, a productive insomniac. If I were smart, I would use my sleepless nights to learn Arabic, read one the many books in my precariously piled stack of “must reads” or, I don’t know…read the dictionary. What I do instead is lay there and think about the things I could or should be doing or run through every interaction I’ve had that day or daydream.

Happily, I am not alone in my insomnia. Literature is rife with those poor souls who have been abandoned by Hypnos and Morpheus. Here are some of my favorite examples:

1) “O Sleep, O Gentle Sleep, Natures Soft Nurse, How Have I Frightend Thee, That Thou No More Wilt Weigh my Eye-Lids Down And Steep My Senses In Forgetfulness?” –William Shakespeare

2 “That’s the advantage of insomnia. People who go to bed early always complain that the night is too short, but for those of us who stay up all night, it can feel as long as a lifetime. You get a lot done” –Banana Yoshimoto

3) “He was afraid of touching his own wrist. He never attempted to sleep on his left side, even in those dismal hours of the night when the insomniac longs for a third side after trying the two he has.” –Vladimir Nabokov

Here are some stories I’ve been reading/watching while I’ve been busy NOT sleeping:

Syria and the Red Cross

Here’s the preview for Richard Engel’s new report for Rock Center about Japan’s Exclusion Zone

Afghanistan and the Quran burnings

That’s it for now. I have some goals to meet…

Categories: Books, Goals, Journalism, Media, Nerd, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

