Syria, Customer Service, Noir And The Godfather, Or A List Of Things To Consider

By: Kiki Keane

I work as a customer service representative (technically I’m still in training). It’s been four days since I have been put on the phones. I just want to throw this bit of advice out there to all those people who utilize customer service. I know that it is frustrating when your stuff doesn’t work or when your bill is more than you expected it to be, but yelling at the person who is there to help you is not going to get the problem resolved quicker. Also, if you’re going to lie to get out of paying a bill, you should make it a lie that can not be contradicted by your account history.

Okay. I’ll get off my soapbox now.

Here is a piece of good news coming out of Syria. Apparently a British journalist has been smuggled out of Syria after being trapped for several days in Homs.

Here and here are some other stories about Syria from CNN.

Awesome entertainment news: It is the 40th anniversary of The Godfather this week. In my humble opinion, it is one the best movies ever made. AMC is showing the trilogy this week. I’m watching Part II as I type this!

Also, if you are a noir fan and your looking for a decent contemporary noir novel to pick-up, I would consider Megan Abbott’s Die A Little. I haven’t finished it yet, but so far it is an interesting, easy read.

Categories: Journalism, Media, Work | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

