On Laziness, or Why I Am an Oikophobe, or My “Safe Place”…

By Kiki Keane

Wow… what a lazy bum I’ve been! I neglected the blog for two whole days! Or is it three? I think I might actually be losing my mind. Okay. I’m not really losing my mind. I’m sure it’s just that I’m tired. Sitting in a freezing cold room, staring at Powerpoints for eight hours a day can be really exhausting. Also, it eats my day since it’s the noon to 8:30 shift. Alright. Alright. I’m done complaining. I am grateful for the job, just a little brain dead is all.

Anyway, I’m not sure there’s much to blog about since I have been doing little more than working and sleeping. I have learned a new word, though. The word is Oikophobe, which is a person who has an aversion to home surroundings. Oikophobes, according to Psychiatrists, are people who are afraid of household appliances, which could be deemed dangerous, like a toaster. Classically, it was a synonym for wanderlust, but lately it has been used to describe people who prefer alien cultures to their own. I prefer the classical usage, which I think perfectly describes me. I have wanderlust to the point that I actually get sweaty palms when I think about paying rent because somehow that act means I am no longer free. When friends talk about buying houses, I have to plaster a smile on my face and then take a trip to my “safe place” (a giant personal library, which has huge windows overlooking an ever changing landscape–the Pyramids one moment, the Eiffel Tower the next, a camel caravan moving across the Sahara after that, ect.).

I did about an hour of Rosetta Stone Arabic last night. I remember exactly one word: Marhaba, which means ‘hello’ or ‘welcome.’ This is gonna be tough, but as the characters in my favorite K-dramas always say: Fighting!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

