She Blinded Me With Science…

By:Rachel Womek

…As the song, By Thomas Dolby goes.

 

I am sitting here, another victim of the common cold, congested, sinus pressure, the works; yet I can’t help but be amazed at the richness and mystery of the Universe. The beauty discovered every day, and the excitement of new things to be discovered. As they say in Star Trek: Space really IS the Final Frontier. It is amazing how truly poetic reality, or the reality of our perceptions, can be. From the orbit of electrons around the nucleus of an atom to the orbit of the planets around our dwarf star, matter and energy dancing through a potentially infinite Universe. Scientific laws give me great comfort; they are the most certain knowledge we can have of the physical word.Though we must admit that even certain knowledge is not certain. Einstein Said: “No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong.”  The Conservation Laws are my favorite. Matter and Energy can neither be created nor destroyed only changed in form. It is quite beautiful to me that matter that makes me up will continue to exist and form new and exciting things long after I’m gone such as meteors, planets, new life perhaps, stars. Stardust to stardust.

To me  scientists are artists. When I am talking about scientists I mean however, True Scientists, people who have a desire and need to Discover simply for the joy and satisfaction of doing so.

 

I could go on, ad nauseam, however sometimes it is best to let others, more eloquent and well versed to speak on that which they know best. Here is a lovely lecture on the shape of the Universe and its implications by Cosmologist Lawrence Krauss. Enjoy.

Categories: Nerd | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

