An Affliction, Which is Not Actually an Affliction. And Why Are People Getting Their Hair Cut in My Gym?

By Kiki Keane

Just got this week’s Time and I was surprised (in a good way) to find a truly great article about a little “affliction” I have, written by a man who is also a journalist and “suffers” from the same “affliction.” The article is called The Upside of Being an Introvert (and Why Extroverts are Overrated). Yes! I am an Introvert. I have spent most of my life trying to explain to people that I am not “shy,” I do not have “anxiety,” I am not “anti-social” and I am not afraid of social gatherings, I just prefer to be alone or in a one-on-one conversation. The article doesn’t just defend Introverts and extol our many virtues (good listeners, better relationships, less likely to wind up in the hospital due to injury, less likely to lose our shirts in financial risks, etc.) it also address a key problem we have… America isn’t for the Introverted. America, the “land of loud and home of the talkative” is a taxing and unforgiving place to be when you’re neural circuits are sensitive to stimuli (i.e. large groups of people). For anyone out there who is an Introvert or if you are a parent of “shy” kid, I suggest reading this article.

Okay… off the soapbox now.

Other things I’ve been wondering about today:

1) Why does my gym offer haircuts? And why was the salon busy?

2) Why was I compelled to watch the Kardashians while I was sweating through my elliptical workout?

I would really like these questions answered…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “An Affliction, Which is Not Actually an Affliction. And Why Are People Getting Their Hair Cut in My Gym?

  1. Amen to that! Introverts rock.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

